“I’M GOOD WHEN I’M A STARTER.” HELLA JONGERIUS ON HER MOVING TO BERLIN

“I work best in a new field or culture, “ Dutch designer Hella Jongerius recently said to online magazine Dezeen when explaining why she moved to Berlin. After graduating at the Eindhoven Design Academy, Jongerius first set up her studio Jongeriuslab in Rotterdam, the Netherlands, where she continued to be based for 15 years.

HELLA JONGERIUS ON HER MOVING TO BERLIN refugium berlin

In 2008, she left her native country and relocated to Berlin, a move she said was based on her need for a fresh start. “I had a beautiful house, a studio round the corner, a nice team and good clients all over the world,” she told Dezeen, “[But] that was not inspirational for me. I like to be a starter; I’m good when I’m a starter, when I’m young and new in a field or in a culture.” Despite not having a large design scene, Jongerius said that Berlin’s green spaces and relaxed attitude towards money also drew her to the city. “We decided to go to Berlin because it’s a green city. It’s a big city but it feels like a village,” she continued, “But the main thing is that it is not about money. There is not the stress of money in the city. It has a relaxed environment, which also makes it creative: things are moving and there’s a young crowd. There’s not a huge design crowd, but I’m not interested in having that close to me.” This image above shows her studio in Berlin. (mb) Via: Dezeen. Image ©Dezeen. The interview is also available on video: http://www.dezeen.com/2013/09/04/hella-jongerius-on-moving-to-berlin-movie/http://www.jongeriuslab.com/

